The Wonderful World of Makeup

I wanted to start off this little space by talking about the general topic of makeup.

Makeup has become such a huge culture, its own world really. What once was perhaps seemingly more simple has now become a giant cornucopia of possibilities. It goes beyond your basic foundation, blush, mascara and eyeliner now. There are trends evolving literally every day, and it can become quite overwhelming. How do you get started with the basics, when there’s contouring, highlighting, and all of these new trends popping up every day? Well it’s important to remember: there’s no rules to makeup. There are simply guidelines. Trends are just that, trends. What works for you won’t necessarily work for someone else and that’s ok! We’ll explore it all together!

I also think it’s important to address the stigma associated with those who wear makeup, whether it be a lot of makeup or a little. There is a huge (and I mean huge) controversy on why people wear makeup. It seems, like with other things related to beauty, there is a stigma of whether people wear makeup because they’re insecure, to make a statement, tor simply to show off. And the truth is, it doesn’t matter WHY you wear makeup. All that matters is that you’re happy doing it. So, in an effort to get you guys to know me a bit better, I’d like to share my “makeup journey”, the very short version.

My mom never wore makeup, she never taught me to put it on. She had a mascara or lipstick lying around in her purse, that I would shamelessly borrow and put on behind her back as a child. Fast forward to middle school, when my friends started wearing makeup. I remember my best friend giving me her grey Cover Girl eyeliner pencil to try out. I remember loving how it looked, and that’s really where it all started for me.  Fast forward to high school, I started wearing foundation, blush and eye shadow, and I loved it! I felt more confident, and it was so fun to play with! I was fine without it but I loved wearing it too! Looking back at old high school pictures, I do look pretty ridiculous sometimes… I’m sure I’m not the only one with a photo lying around that makes you think “What in the world, and why,” but it was part of the journey! I graduated high school, and that’s where the passion for the stuff began. I was incredibly fortunate to score my first job (ever!) at a Sephora inside JcPenny and later a job at a freestanding Sephora, where I just completed my fifth year with the company overall and became a Certified Makeup Artist! I know… dream come true! And there was where I was introduced to the bigger picture of makeup, the realities if you will: Not everyone wears makeup because it’s fun. Not everyone wears it because it gives them confidence. Not everyone wears it for any particular reason at all.

I’ve met so many people over the years, all ages, all genders, all backgrounds, and each of them have their own makeup story. That’s the beauty of makeup. For some, it’s fun. For some, it helps them gain confidence, it gives them an identity. For some, it’s an art. For some, it’s just something to do. But it doesn’t matter WHAT it is to you, as long as your reason makes you happy. So, whether you just wear mascara and call it a day, or if you’re like me and you wear the whole shebang every day, or if you see makeup and you see a vision of art. It doesn’t matter. Wear it because you want to, because you can.

Makeup has no rules. Do what makes you happy.

I look forward to exploring the makeup basics and beyond with you guys!

Leave a Reply

